CV

Download full CV

 

 

Research

Mechanochemistry is the use of mechanical force to drive chemical reactions. In polymeric materials, mechanical stress can lead to scission of covalent bonds, affecting the molecular weight of the chains and therefore the properties of the material. Our group studies:

  1. New mechanically driven chemical transformations – we design molecules that, when incorporated into polymers, undergo productive chemical reactions under stress.
  2. Design of polymer architectures that conduct mechanical stress to specific points in the polymer chains, creating new materials that are more resistant or susceptible to mechanical stress.
  3. Design of new mechanoresponsive materials, utilizing mechanically driven chemical transformations.
  4. The use of organic chemistry to create new polymer architectures that react to physicochemical stimuli.
  5. The effect of polymer chemistry and architecture on the mechanical properties of materials, i.e., relation between nano (chemistry) and macro (mechanics).
  6. Chemistry of quaternary ammonium salts – chemical stability, chiral properties, catalysis.

Biography

Post doc: University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 2011-2014, doing research in the field of mechanically driven chemical reactions (mechanochemistry)

Ph.D: Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, 2007-2011, on the synthesis of bimetallic complexes and the physical organic chemistry of olefin-metathesis pre-catalysts.

Awards:
2014 Henry Taub LIST Award
2010 The Ruth and Milton Orchin Prize
2010 The Human and Irene Kreitman Prize
2016 Schulich Teaching Award

Selected publications
  1. Tzur et al. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2008, 47, 6422-6425.
  2. Diesendruck et al. Inorg. Chem., 2009, 48, 10819-10825.
  3. Diesendruck et al. J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2012, 134, 12446-12449
  4. Sudheendran et al. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2013, 52, 5767-5770
  5. Kaitz et al. J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2013, 135, 12755-12761.
  6. Patrick et al. Adv. Mat., 2014, 26, 4189-4396.
  7. Diesendruck et al. Nat. Chem., 2014, 6, 623-628.
  8. Diesendruck et al. Chem. Commun., 2014, 50, 13235-13238
  9. Diesendruck et al. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2015, 54, 10428-10447
Group members
Name Email Room Phone
Dr. Sinai Aharonovich sinai-ah@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Nansi Gjineci nansig@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Or Galant gorr@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Avishai Levi avishail@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Iris Melnik iris.melnik@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Sapir Willdorf-Cohen sapirwil-m@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Kanika Aggarwal kanika@campus.technion.ac.il 308 1533
Rony Schwarz ronys@campus.technion.ac.il 308 1533
Oleg Gouli olegguli@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Sally Nijem nsally@technion.ac.il 308 1533
Alisa Bouketov bouketov@campus.technion.ac.il 308 1533
Barca Donmez donmez@campus.technion.ac.il 308 1533
Amit Manor Armon

 amit.ma@campus.technion.ac.il

308 1533
Gallery