Yitzhak Apeloig

Yitzhak Apeloig

Distinguished Professor

Organic and Organosilicon Chemistry

Organic Reaction Mechanisms: Reactive intermediates, in particular carbenium ions; strained molecules.

Organosilicon Chemistry: Multiple bonds in silicon; polysilanes, silylenes and silicenium ions; enzymatic reactions of organosilicon compounds.

Computational Chemistry: Application of theory, in particular ab initio quantum mechanical methods, to organic chemistry and bio organic molecules; molecular modeling.


Post doc: Princeton University, 1974-1976

Ph.D: Hebrew University, 1974


1965-1967 Annual Prize for Distinction in Chemistry Studies, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel
1971 The Prize for Distinguished Student of the Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel
1974 The Yashinski Prize for Distinguished Ph.D. Thesis
1977-1978 Bat-Sheba de Rothschild Fellow
1979 DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) Fellowship
1985, 1991 DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) Visiting Professor
1986 The Louis Klein Visiting Professorship in Australian Universities
1986, 1993, 1997 Distinguished Teacher Award by the Technion Student Association
1988 Technion Award for Academic Excellence, Technion (The New England Prize)
1991, 1993 The Henri Gutwirth Prize for Excellence in Research,Technion
1993 Included in “Who’s Who in Science and Engineering”, Beginning Second Edition
1993 Included in the “International Who’s Who of Contemporary Achievement”, Beginning Third Edition
1993 Incumbent of a Chair in Chemistry
1993 Israel-Italy National Council for Research and Development, Senior Scientist Exchange Fellow
1994-1999, 2010 Alexander von Humboldt – Lise Meitner Senior Research Award
1996 Granted a Minerva Center in Computational Quantum Chemistry
1991, 1999, 2010 Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS), Senior Visiting Professor Award
2002 C. A Coulson Lecturer, University of Georgia, Athens, USA
2002 The Israel Chemical Society Prize
2006 Honorary Doctorate of Science (Dr. Honoris Causa) Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
2007 Wacker Silicone Award
2008 Honorary Member, Academia de Ciencias, Mexico
2009 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
2010 American Chemical Society Fredric Stanely Kipping Award in Silicon Chemistry
2010 Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2011 Order of Merit (First Degree) of the President of the Federal Republic of Germany

Name Email Room Phone
Dimitry Bravo-Zhivotovsky 507 3604
Roman Dobrovetsky 507 3720
Miri Karni 216 3056
Alexander Kaushansky 507/508 3720
Arseni Kostenko 507/508 3720
Yosi Kratysh 507/508 3720
Daniel Pinchuk 507/508 3720
Boris Tumanskii 518 3706
Lieby Zborovsky 507/508 3720
Boris Minkovich 507/508 3720
Shimon Maximenko 508 3720
Mathew Jomon 518 3706
Evgeni Mashin 507/508 3720
Yulia Goldshtein 507/508 3720