member-academic-staff
Timor Baasov

Timor Baasov

Professor
+972-4-8292590
+972-4-8295703
654
Research in our laboratory encompasses a variety of projects directed toward development of new chemical and enzymatic strategies for the synthesis of biologically active compounds and designed molecules as mechanistic probes for enzymatic reactions, carbohydrate-mediated biological recognition and catalysis. The group has a tight collaboration with specialized laboratories in the fields of protein engineering, rapid-quench kinetics, solid-state NMR and protein crystallography. Current research areas include: · Rational design of novel antibacterial drugs · Design, synthesis and evaluation of catalytic oligosaccharides · Development of new synthetic methodologies, chemical and enzymetic, for the assembly of oligosaccharides

Post doc: Chaim Weizmann Postdoctoral Fellow Harvard University 1986-88

Ph.D: Chemistry, The Weizmann Institute of Science, 1981-1986

 

Curriculum Vitae

 

Awards

2002 Excellence in Teaching, Technion (organic chemistry 2B).
2005 Hershel Rich-Technion Innovation Award for the research work on “Rational Design of Bifunctional Antibiotics: From Antibiotics Targeting Cystic Fibrosis to Effective Treatment of Anthrax Lethal Factor.”
2005 Excellence in Teaching, Technion (organic chemistry 2C).
2005 Research Prize for the “Development of New Technology for the Defense from Terror”, administered by the Center of Science and Technology, Technion.
2005 Dr. Irving and Jeanette Benveniste Chair in Life Sciences.
2006 Excellence in Teaching, Technion (organic chemistry 2C).
2006 Muriel and David Jacknow Award for excellence in teaching.
2007 Schulich Award for excellence in teaching.
2008 Hershel Rich-Technion Innovation Award for the research work on “Novel Aminoglycosides and Uses Thereof in the Treatment of Genetic Disorders.”
2008 Excellence in Teaching, Technion (organic chemistry 2C).

Curriculum Vitae

http://schulich.technion.ac.il/files/researchers_cv/cvTimorBaasov.pdf

Name Email Room Phone
Yarden Degani
 yardend@technion.ac.il 655 3730
Boris Smolkin
  smolkinb@technion.ac.il 655 3952
 Michal Shavit Kishkober
  michals@technion.ac.il 655 3952
Eli Shulman
  shul2@technion.ac.il 655 3952
Alina Vilensky
  alinav@technion.ac.il 655 3952
Vera Kravinskiy
  verak@technion.ac.il 655 3925
Maayan Hirsch
  maayanh@technion.ac.il 655 3952
Bat-Hen Zalman
  bat-henz@technion.ac.il 655 3952
Moshe Goldmeier
  goldmeier@technion.ac.il 611 3730
 Vera Firzon
verak@technion.ac.il 655 3952
Sofya Kats
sofya@campus.technion.ac.il 655 3952
Belakhov Valery
chvalery@technion.ac.il 655 3952